Wracać wciąż do domu Le Guin
Zmierzch Bogów
Encyklopedia :


The band wasformed in 1985, and after releasing the demo, “Instigators” (1988), and the “Blue Blood” EP (1989) on Nuclear Blas to this day still a worthy collector’s item. Atrocity presented the world their debut, “Hallucinations” in 1990. Following extensive and successful touring, Atrocity released “Todessehnsucht” (1992) on Roadrunner Records. They surprised the critics by integrating classical elements into their music, including four opera singers.

After signing to Massacre Records in 1994, Atrocity released “Blut”. The vampirish concept shaped the entire album and beckoned the listener to roam the threatening and dark scenery and fascinating atmosphere of Transylvania. The creative result provided for an extremely positive reaction from press and fans alike: Atrocity disassociated itself forever from all possible categorization.

The two EPs released in 1995, “Calling the Rain” and “Die Liebe”, were the logical consequence. “Calling the Rain” encountered such positive reactions that Atrocity decided to pursue this path consistently. With the support of Yasmin Krull’s vocals, the band reached new atmospheric levels. “Die Liebe” was Atrocity’s first collaborative effort with the Das Ich mastermind Bruno Kamm: Both acts arranged the songs of the other, so as to then interpret them together in a new light. Atrocity became a household name to the fans of Electro and Darkwave with this hit.

“Willenskraft” brought Atrocity’s past, present, and future together in 1996 with an array of brutal riffs, hymnlike parts, and atmospheric elements. “The Hunt” EP, featuring brutal songs (incl. a remake of “Blue Blood”), was dedicated to the “old-school” fans for their never-ending support.

In 1997, Atrocity decided to explore new musical ground: The intention of “Werk 80” was to mutate the pop classics of the 80s into Atrocity songs. The result was a dance explosion in the rock clubs: “Wild Boys”, “Shout”, or “Der Mussolini” had fans dancing and Atrocity in the charts.

Shortly before the turn of the new century, Atrocity released their first greatest hits album, “Non Plus Ultra” (1989-1999), including many extras, and premiered live on stage in the USA. The last and very successful chart album “Gemini” (2000), released on Motor/Universal, took off from where “Work 80” left off - the material integrated electronic elements and counted on a more comprehensive essential structure, without neglecting the typical Atrocity originality.

Their latest album “Atlantis” represents a type of comeback, after a three-and-a-half-year sabbatical, which could have hardly been better thought out and spectacular. In proven tradition, the quintet is not content with singular views, but rather prefers a concept that shapes the entire album: “Atlantis is a very dynamic and musically complete work”, explains front man Alex Krull. “It stands for bombastic, epic songs, in which heaviness, atmosphere, and melody work together to tell the story of Atlantis and the Golden Age. I am sure that many of our fans, who prefer the harder releases, will be thrilled with this album.”

“Atlantis” torpedoes categorical thinking and explores the limits of the Metal and Rock genres. Those who chose to stereotype the musical framework of “Atlantis” will commit a grave error: “Reich of Phenomena” delivers bombastic arrangements, blast beats, brutal riffs, and harsh vocals; “Superior Race” is a double bass firestorm of blazing emotion and atmospheric arrangements; while “Ichor” provides Death Metal with an epic alternative and “Enigma” dares to journey into the world of opera. In order to not only captivate the listener musically, “Atlantis” features a multimedia section with detailed information about Atlantis.


Alexander Krull - vocals
Mathias Röderer - guitar
Thorsten Bauer - guitar
Chris Lukhaup - bass
Martin Schmidt – drums


01. Atlantis (2006)
02. Cold black days (2004)
03. Gemini (2000)
04. Taste of Sin (2000)
05. Sound of Silence (2000)
06. Non Plus Ultra (1999)
07. Werk 80 (1997)
08. Das letzte Mal (1997)
09. Tainted Love (1997)
10. Shout (1997)
11. The Hunt (1996)
12. Willenskraft (1996)
13. Die Liebe (1995)
14. Calling The Rain (1995)
15. Blut (1994)
16. Todessehnsucht (1992)
17. Hallucinations (1990)
18 Blue Blood (1989)
Średnia ocena: 0
Oceny: 0

Podobne artykuły